Many countries have mandatory military service for young men. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of young people spending a period of time in the military?

In many nations, military service for young men is enforced. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons of this practice.

On the one hand, adopting this military service will benefit national defences. The military service will be filled with many young men who still have strong and healthy bodies. This makes the country stronger than others who still have not adopted this system. For example, Russia, which has applied this system for almost 200 years ago, becoming the strongest nation in military in the world. Furthermore, it is beneficial for young people to join the army early, this is because they will be trained to become stronger and mature people.

On the other hand, not all countries are ready to adopt this system. This can be explained by the fact that many nations struggle with poverty and famine. For instance, in Africa such as Sudan, which still deals with food scarcity, usually have short and thin bodies. It will produce weak people and cannot become a beneficial defence for the nation. Additionally, adopting this service will interfere with career goals and interests. This is because many young people invest significant time and money in their education, aiming to build sustainable careers. As a result, if they obligated to join the armed forces, it will disrupt or interrupt their progress.

In conclusion, while joining the army may be beneficial for young people because of national defences and becoming mature people, it is also negative for them due to job effects and the poverty in some nations.