Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

It is true that there is a noticeable number of developing nations that put great emphasis on tourism expansion. The primary reason is because of the potential profits. However, I contend that this propensity bears a major adverse impact on the environment.

The prime reason why some nations choose to channel their budget on tourism rather than other sectors is because it generates job opportunities for mostly local residents, which is of paramount importance for the economic development. This is due to the fact that the more visitors come, the greater demand for services and transportations will be created. The need for tourism – related occupations such as waiters, tourist guides, or drivers, therefore, would increase significantly. Not only can such job generations contribute to solving part of unemployment but it also makes profit to the authority budget, resulting in boosting economic growth.

However, I consider tourism expansion as a negative development due to its detrimental effects on the environment. Chef among these is air and soil pollution. As the sheer volume of vehicles serving traveling purposes increases, the greenhouse effect is then created due to a vast amount of gas being released to the air. A pertinent example would be that many areas of China, one of the most touristic countries, are suffering from serious air pollution each year. Regarding soil environment, tourists as well as the hospitality industry often dump waste, especially plastic ones, leading to severe soil contamination. In addition to that, in order to accommodate the growing demands of tourists, trees are often cut down for the construction of new infrastructure, further contributing to deforestation and disasters’ effects.

In conclusion, although it might seem justifiable why several governments choose to allocate their money on tourism, its negative influences on the environment are much worth-considering.