Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourism industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

These days, many developing countries are focusing on expanding and promoting their tourism industries. There are many reasons that account for this trend, and I believe that this can be a positive development in spite of some drawbacks arising from this development.

First and foremost, it is understandable why loads of countries now are investing money to promote and expand tourism since a well-developed tourism industry can create businesses, jobs, and profits for local people along with an influx of money from foreign tourists. Furthermore, promoting tourism can improve international relations with other countries through sharing a country’s customs, cultures, and identity with people all over the world. Since a lot of people nowadays are interested in deepening in other countries’ cultures, this activity can facilitate this experience.

Nonetheless, this trend also brings about plenty of considerable downsides; for instance, pollution and destruction to the environment. It can be clearly observed that each and every tourist contributes an excessive amount of plastic waste through their bottled water, plastic bags, etc. when traveling; hence, overloading many countries’ recycling systems. A lot of developing countries now do not have appropriate recycling facilities to address the waste; thus, countries end up being overwhelmingly littered throughout beaches, rivers, oceans, seasides,… Beside that, an invasion of tourists to certain places disrupts the local wildlife and ecosystem, causing more potential environmental damage.

In conclusion, I firmly believe expanding the tourism industry in a country is rather beneficial if it is properly managed and environmental along with cultural cons are kept to a limitation.