Many elderly individuals fail to engage in regular exercise. What factors contribute to this issue, and how can we encourage them to exercise more?

Some senior citizens do not routinely stick to a workout plan. This could be due to a lack of support from their loved ones, owing to their busy schedules. A Potential solution to this is to have a family member regularly train with them, so that they would feel more motivated and not feel lonely during their training.

A key reason why older people fail to engage in regular exercise is due to the lack of a support system. This could be because of the busy working schedules of their children, who have to travel to work, or tend to their own children. As a result, these elderly individuals may not be able to travel moderate distances, by themselves, to visit training facilities. For example, a survey conducted in Melbourne, Australia, revealed that approximately 30% of the elderly population in the area were unable to travel alone to a gym, due to various health complications. Furthermore, their children explained that because of their hectic lifestyles, they did not have the time to cater to their parents’ requirements.

A solution that could be implemented, is to assign a member of a family to assist with the elder’s requests. A member of the family, who may also frequent the gym, could be assigned to transport their elderly relative to and from the facility. Consequently, this may aid in motivating the senior citizen, while helping to alleviate the feeling of loneliness. For instance, in China, many relatives often visit parks with their older family members. Moreover, they spend the evenings walking or jogging, which leads to a happier and more pleasant mood overall, which subsequently helps to boost the morale of the elderly.

In conclusion, many aged individuals are not habitually inclined to take part in regular workout sessions. This could be attributed to the busy work-lives of their children, who then fail to support them. However, by implementing a system where an individual in the family can assist by transporting, as well as working out with, the older individual, this can help alleviate the feeling of loneliness, as well as help improve their mood.