Many historical sites are being repurposed for commercial use, such as hotels or shopping centers. Do the advantages of this reuse of historical sites outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, it is evident that many historical landmarks and cultural sites have been replaced by a number of amenities including hotels and shopping malls instead of being conserved as museums or historical sites. While this phenomenon holds merits, I firmly believe that it can pose a threat to both cultural heritage and economic growth.

Atmittedly, when a considerable of historical places are repurposed for commercial activities such as shopping centers or cinemas, corporations and governments can generate a great deal of revenue, which is crucial to maintain an economic development. With more services being available across the country, individuals can enjoy a sense of convenience without travelling a long distance. For instance, locally historical sites are being replaced by shopping malls to enhance accessibility and availability for consumers, thereby increasing overall revenue margins of local incorporations and quality of citizens’ lives.

However, when more and more historical places and cultural sites are being replaced by a number of amenities, there are many negative impacts which both undermine economic growth and cultural heritage. One key reason for that is the reduction in historical tourism. By redesigning old historical landmarks into commercial places, a number of tourists having an interest in historical figures and momentums might develop a sense of disapointment. For instance, many historical sites in Ha Noi are being demolished and replaced by numerous convenient amenities which provide recreational activities for domestic citizens. This could dramatically undermine the national and local indentity of such places, contributing to a growing abandonment of historical tourism. Consequently, reducing the overall revenue of organisations and corporations when it comes to tourism regarding historical insights.

In conclusion, while many organisations and policy makers implement a method of repurposing old historical sites for convenient places and amenities, I believe this trend is regarded as counterproductive which could undermine country’s cultural identity and historical tourism. If not properly regulated, the general disadvantages of which could enormously outweigh the advantages.