Many lesser-known languages are disappearing. Young people should be forced to learn these languages so they are not lost forever. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In contemporary world, a few languages are prominent among the world population, while several lesser-known languages are being eloped. Many people argue that the younger generation should be obliged to learn these languages so as to prevent their disapperance. I partially disagree with this assertion.

On the one hand, forcing young generations on learning these languages could be only way possible to preserve them. The supporters of this view believes that mother toungue is the cruical threat that binds people with their roots. Additionally, it is well evident that the languages are usually transferred from generation to generation, thus likelihood of transfer of language is only possible if there are languages speaking population in the first place. Therefore, people who want to preserve their culture, tradition, and identity, looby the lawmakers to make it compulsory rule of including languages in school curriculum.

However, it is wasteful to teach children less-spoken languages that they are less likely to communicate with in the future. Today’s world is often considered as small villages, where people could travel anywhere and live there as they desire. Being fluent in the foreign language is the basic need for settling and growth of an individual in these foreign environment. For the same reason, people often desire to learn foreign languague, neglecting their local languages. Although, the less-known languages may eventually die down, the people form that community could display their identity in the form of their dress, festivals and their way of living.

To conclude, although the background and cultural aspects of individual are important, people usually look to move forward and we should not strictly force them on learning the language, that they are not going to use in the future.