more and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods . to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the number of overweight people is increasing rapidly around the world. Many individuals suggest taxing or increasing the price of high-fat foods to address this problem. I partly agree with this solution. While increasing prices can make people eat less junk food, I think this policy is not enough and needs to be combined with health education.

On the one hand, making fattening foods more expensive can bring some positive results. When food with high fat content like fried chicken, burgers, or potato chips cost more money, consumers who have a limited budget like students and low-income individuals will be affected. For example, some countries introduced a fat tax on products containing high fat, which successfully helped reduce the consumption of unhealthy foods and find alternatives. In addition, companies might change the ingredients with less fat and add more healthy products to the offerings to retain customers.

On the other hand, I believe that increasing the price of fatty food cannot completely stop obesity because it does not fix the root cause. Raising costs have little impact on many customers who still afford higher prices and only limited options for low-income earners . Moreover, obesity is not only eating food heavy in fat but also caused by sedentary unhealthy lifestyles so increasing price will not address root causes.Therefore, a better solution is to build more free public parks and sports fields to encourage people to exercise. Furthermore, the government should use the tax money collected from fatty foods to invest in education about nutrition.

In conclusion, raising the price of fattening foods is a good economic way to reduce the consumption of unhealthy fats. However, it is not a perfect solution. To solve the obesity problem effectively, governments must combine higher taxes with sports promotion and education about a balanced diet.