Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Urban migration is causing extreme pressure on housing and infrastructure and, consequently, some people feel that public parks have become a luxury that we can no longer afford. While it is true that green areas can take up a lot of space, the benefits to the residents of a city and to the environment are too numerous to ignore.

It is undeniable that parks provide valuable leisure amenities – a place to picnic, walk, kick a ball, play with the children, or just relax. Besides this, recent research has shown that they also provide appreciable health benefits by allowing people to engage with nature, which enhances their mental well-being and lowers their stress levels. Consider also that, with the rising epidemic of obesity, it is more important than ever to make space available for physical exercise. The bonus of exercising in a natural setting, rather than going to a gym or jogging on urban streets, is that not only does the body benefit from the physical activity but anxiety and depression are alleviated as well. It is reported that the overall effect of “green exercise” is better fitness, lower blood pressure, lower cholesterol levels and greater tranquillity. Moreover, for lower socio-economic groups, parks are an affordable way to

improve health and participate in social interaction.

City planners should also consider environmental benefits before deciding to sacrifice parkland for construction. Trees improve air quality by removing pollutants and filtering the air. Furthermore, if parks are located alongside urban waterways, they help keep the water clean by absorbing contaminated runoff from the city’s hard surfaces.

In conclusion, although I appreciate the problem, I wholeheartedly disagree with the view that parks should be used to mitigate housing shortages in cities. They offer significant health and recreation benefits to the people and improve the overall climate and environment of the city. If space is truly at a premium, city officials would do better to look at reducing the urban sprawl of shopping malls and parking lots.