Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I strongly disagree on the action of occupying the park land and reconstructing it for residential development. Park lands are the nature habitats for many animal species and by reassigning it, we are destroying their homelands and chasing them away. The issue of limited land space cannot be solved by moving the park lands as we live in a midst of globalisation and the population will consistently increase. Hence, occupying park land is just a short term solution. The government should think of a more efficient long term solution such as reducing the housing size or building houses closer to one another. The mindset of using park land for housing is more beneficial is a misconception of many people, I believe that we need to conserve the park lands as we are many cities are urbanised and nature parks are needed to balance out the overly urbanised cities.

However, I understand that many cities are overcrowded and there is a limitation on the land space. For instance, countries such as Hong kong and Singapore have limited land space but they are experiencing overly high populations. There have caused the governments to removed park lands and build more housing to accommodate this issue. This has becoming a norm in small countries with high populations.

Ultimately, we should reserve the land for parks and try to use other land areas for housing developments. There are more cons in reassigning park land for residential developments thereby I stand by my view that we should not occupy park land to build more houses.