Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Almost all of the major cities of the world are burdened with the large influx of people from nearby suburbs creating challenges for accommodating them in its scarce land. For tackling the situation, expanding the city areas may offer a viable and effective solution to this far-reaching problem.

To begin with, expanding the city areas will offer more land that can be used to build residential infrastructures for the new and upcoming surge of population. This will facilitate the residential areas with scope for planned recreational, educational and commercial amenities. For example, Mumbai in India and Dhaka in Bangladesh have successfully addressed the overpopulation by expanding city facilities to nearby areas.

Moreover, extending city areas to attached suburb areas will inevitably help those areas making new infrastructures and modern facilities. Many may argue in fovour of using the current city park land for building residential infrastructures, but they will lead to a chaotic situation in those areas as free spaces will be gone. Consequently city dwellers will also be bereft of recreational facilities. This whole thing will adversely affect the city environment.

In conclusion, the surge of new population can be solved by expanding the city facilities to nearby areas which will serve the purpose of both accommodating them and providing city facilities to boarder areas.