Many museums and historical sites are mainly visted by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

Museums and historical destinations tend to attract a variety of foreign visitors, while they are not able to appeal to local residents. There are several culprits causing this problem, however, measures always exist to assist tackle this phenomenon.

Local dwellers are not interested in visiting historical galleries due to their brief time and the culture’s popularity. Regarding the former, residents have hectic schedules for their work and family, limiting their time for museum trips. Monotonous information and artifacts would fail to captivate people due to various burdens and stresses. Instead of engaging with these boring destinations, they may entertain themselves with several alternatives such as malls or cinemas, providing them with comfortable and relaxing senses. Concerning the latter, historical sites and museums may display the tradition and culture of the locals, which only attract curious tourists instead of the residents, who have clear awareness about these. Their relaxing demands need other exhilarating and unique than familiar values.

To address this negative tendency, various efficient approaches could be implemented, including organizing unique and interesting events as well as reducing the entrance fee for local people. Museums and heritage sites should enhance their media coverage and prevalence by unique and in vogue contents to attract local residents. For example, Hoa Lo Prison in Hanoi has organized various activities such as “Dem Thieng Lieng”, which was a filming event about the site, integrating several trendy contents via media platforms that captivated youngsters. Besides, the discount frenzy in entrance fee would also attract the locals, thanks to the affordability compared to other destinations and respectful senses in their hometown. Hue city would be a testament to its success through this measure, appealing to local tourists visiting their historical structures on special occasions.

In conclusion, their limited spare time and the tradition’s popularity among local residents act as a precursor to the poor attendance rate of historical sites. Meanwhile, there are various applicable measures to tackle the phenomenon including improving media coverage and reducing entrance fee for the locals.