Many museums and historical sites are mainly visted by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

Nowsaday, many museums and historical sites have major attraction to tourists, rather than locals. This essay will discuss a variety of reasonable reasons why this happening and several possible methods to appeal more local people.

There are a great deal of factors that contribute to the low numbers of local people visiting museums and historical sites. Firstly, locals usually have their own knowledge about their culture and history. That’s why they may not have any excitement or outstanding experiences when they visit those places. Furthermore, locals may be familiar with museums and historical sites in their area since they have lived there for a long time so they might have significant information about such places. Therefore, they are often not appealed by these places and may not be interested in visiting them. Secondly, as most of people, local people prefer to visit other places to get new knowledge about other cultures, history and practical experiences, rather than their own. As a result, the majority of people who visit such places are mainly tourists.

In spite of having difficulties in attracting more locals to visit their own museums and historical sites, there are several methods to solve this problem. One reasonable solution for local government is upgrading facilities and offering more attractive amenities in these places to appeal more locals. Furthermore, governments may also organize trips for local students and people to promote artefacts and displays, so as to impress them and help them have a positive perspective about such places. As a result, locals might be more interested in visiting historical sites and delving into their culture and history. Another appropriate solution for this problem is prioritizing locals when they visit these places. For instance, they should be permitted to enter such sites freely by govenment. By this way, museums and historical sites may appeal large numbers of locals visiting.

In summary, although the process of attracting local people to visit museums and historical sites still ecounters numberous difficulties, there are several methods to solve this problem.