Many museums and historical sites are mainly visted by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

Museums represent an important part of science and human history, and they have been among us for a long time. However, the public interested in them are mostly tourists, whereas there appear to be that local inhabitants are reluctant to go. This essay will discuss the reason why this occurs and a possible solution which could result in an increase of local visitors.

Rather than a scarcity of interest, people know that the building is going to be there all the time, so they keep postponing it. Actually, humans are programmed to think that there is a future, so they can have intentions and never fulfil them. A good example of this could me that people who live in a seaside city are not as interested as others in going to the beach because it has always been there, and that is impossible to be changed. Thus, is the lack of modifications which deters local people to visit the museums near to them.

A strategy to tackle this problem could be organising shows or events which change every month, so that it will make them to perceive that the museum is not going to remain exactly as it was two or three months before. For instance, if the staff dressed as iconic historical characters for one month, and then modify the theme to something completely different such as dinosaurs and fake bones which had been previously covered by sand that people from all ages can dig them up, then they might well be excited about the next topic. In short, modify the perception of stability that people have got about the museums is very likely to work and attract them all.

In conclusion, museums have been places of interest for many decades. Nevertheless, tourists seem to be keener to them in comparison to those who live close. A good plan to sort this out is change constantly the activities which can be done, which is going to give people the sensation that they could miss something if they do not go.