Many museums and historical sites are mainly visted by tourists rather than local people. Why is this? What can be done to encourage local people to visit museums and historical sites?

People tend to be uninterested in visiting museums and historically cultural places, in their local, while these destinations become popularly with visitors who come from other areas. This essay will shed the light this phenomenon and provide several possible ways to engage more local visitors.

There are some underlying reasons why locals namely visit historical and cultural places in their living area. To begin, the most obvious cause is that they have sufficient knowledge about where they have lived for a long time. This is because they might use to witness past events or even were told by their older generation. Therefore, local people may understand knowledge in museums or historical sites in a real way. In addition, the development of education is one of the most significant factors. The reason for this is that history is focused in school curriculum more and more by many different interesting ways to supply historical and cultural for students. As a result, a large amount of knowledge is absorbed easily and cause dispensable visit to these places.

Beside that, there are several efficient ways to attract more local residents to be interested in visiting local museums and historical sites. Firstly, it is likely that one of the most realistic solutions is upgrade and renovate the museums and open some new activities for visitors. For example, several entertaining areas such as a cafe, a children play or a souvenir shop may attract more people to spend time on the combination between sightseeing trips and entertainment. Moreover, the museums may change the themes to create the various knowledge sources, thus may lead to not only tourists but also locals be excited to learn new things. Secondly, schools might link to museums or historical sites to organise trips for local children. This is because students may tend to be interested in traveling together, so that it is enjoyable and novel for children even may help they study more effectively. Consequently, the number of local visitors may rise consederably and especially the economic growth.

In conclusion, museums and cultural sites attract many tourists instead of local people. There are several significant reasons for this. So these places may have considerably effective solutions to improve the situation.