Many natural medicinal resources are being lost due to environmental destruction. What problems does this cause, and what measures can be taken to address them?

Nowadays, there is a significant loss in medicines that are made up of natural ingredients, mainly because of environmental destruction. In my opinion, the noticeable problem is that there will be a shortage in future medicines, and to solve this, infrastructure planning and urban development will maintain greenery and woods in the future.

The key problem to this loss of natural resources is that many modern medicines will be gradually scarce. This environmental destruction, like deforestation or higher use of fertilisers to plants, can harm the natural growth of plants and reduce some beneficial nutrients of organic products. Many medicines such as probiotics these days are made up from natural ingredients such as fermented vegetables, so the loss of natural sources can impact medicine production and development. According to a recent medical study, ginkgo leaf, which is a crucial ingredient in some medications for neuropathology, tends to grow at a slower rate due to carbon emission from production plants. As a consequence, there can be a shortage in the medication for patients with memory issues. This problem in medicine production and development can put hospitalised patients or people with health issues at risk due to lack of modern or alternative medicines. To summarise, this problem from destruction of the environment can seriously impact the overall population’s health and healthcare system due to lack of medicines.

The government should take serious action to slow urbanization and infrastructure development, and then put effort into improving forest or green areas in the same proportion as the buildings. Since the main cause that strongly impacts environmental destruction these days is urbanization and infrastructure development. As the city grows, there are fewer places for natural habitats, and some species are endangered. Therefore, a planned city design can reduce this impact on natural resources and create a sustainable place for both human and environment. For instance, some governments started to mix buildings and greenery altogether, such as Singapore, so that they can preserve special species of plants and flowers, like orchids which are used as an anti-oxidant in traditional medicines. This government’s approach on urbanization and infrastructure development would help prevent the loss of natural ingredients and supplies that are important for modern medication. Thus, the city planning that develops both city and green zones will preserve the organic ingredients and support the natural habitats that are also a crucial part of medicinal products.

In conclusion, as many medicinal resources are disappearing from environmental natural destruction, this badly affects patients and the recovery and treatments of some illnesses. I believe that there is the solution can be a smarter urban design by the government to increase forests and natural space that preserve organic products for medicines.