Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first purnishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

There is a trend of many offenders commiting more crimes following their initial timebeing in jail. It is believed to happen due to the toxic culture in prisons and the lack of strong rehabilitation efforts, while fostering trust to ex-prisoners in general public and building efficient programs could become essential solutions to the said problem.

The main reason for subsequent crimes among felons is their exposure to toxic masculine environment in jails. Isolated from the real world, offenders become more aggressive and agitating as means to survive in a social hirearchy set by alpha jail mates. And when released, they are not eager to follow the rules and norms in their respective community. Furthermore, the absence of programs that aim to assist this adaptation and the public hatred towards felons lead to many of them not being able to find a viable source of income or simply a community. This constant stress and feeling of being rejected is why most continue to commit crimes.

In order to eradicate this problem, authorities ought to implement stronger rehabilitation programs, while laypeople should stop isolating people based on past criminal record. Providing prisoners with psychology sessions to address post-jail trauma and specialised jobs, with adequate salaries, after serving punishment are important for their adaptation. Moreover, normalising engaging with such people within society through media platforms such as movies, TV shows, and social media could make them feel accepted and foster a sense of belonging.

To conclude, a lot of prisoners commit post-service crimes because of hypermasculine environment in jails as well as government not putting enough effort for their adaptation to the real world. These adversities could be prevented by creating rehab initiatives and building trust among ordinary people, as they guarantee ex-offenders’ smooth transition into the society.