Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

Nowadays, individuals have varying opinions on whether more production of commodities and materials should be the common aspiration for all countries. On one hand, a policy in this direction can stimulate economic growth, but in my view, the constant quest for more production is not a wise long-run policy since it may negatively affect society and the environment.

On the one hand, mass production can have a range of positive impacts. One of the most significant motivations is the fact that it is able to help countries, particularly developing countries, grow their economies. Specifically, it creates jobs, enhances income for locals, and improves the quality of their lives. For instance, countries like Vietnam and India have improved their economies using this approach, enabling a large number of individuals to escape poverty. Additionally, this can lead to more opportunities for exportation, which can further benefit an economy of a country.

Nonetheless, there are some demerits for a nation to keep on raising production. One of the key problems is the destruction it causes to the environment. Pollution and deforestation are quite easily triggered by excess production. For instance, the fashion sector has continued to encourage fast fashion as a means of responding to customers’ needs. The practice results in excessive waste with tons of clothes that are disposed in landfills, contributing to air pollution and environmental degradation. In addition, an overall emphasis on production has a tendency to widen the rich-poor divide. The largest gainers tend to be large companies, and employees and small companies may not gain much, and society becomes more unequal.

In conclusion while at times mass production can enable short-run economic development, in my opinion, it is not a feasible long-run objective since it causes ecological problems and raises disparity. Governments must aim towards balanced development in their interest as well as for the happiness of our planet.