Many people assume that the goal of every country should be to produce more materials and goods. To what extent do you agree or disagree that constantly increasing production is an appropriate goal?

There has been a controversial debate about the main goal of every country. Many people claim that their final aim must be the increased production of materials and goods. In my opinion, although this purpose can have several economic benefits, this would eventually increase consumerism in that nation.

The increase in the production of goods and materials requires an infrastructore that occupies more labour force which creates more job opportunities for their citizens. This developement would make a country independent of imports from other countries. Exports, additionally, can be done if mass production is available in order to improve the economic status of a country. The income and budget attained from this source can then be used in other fields, including education, leisure, and healthcare to improve the overall statisfaction level of the people. China, for instance, has developed significantly in the production industry to the extent that it has become its main source of income and it is exporting its produced goods all over the world.

Consumerism and materialism, on the other hand, is one the hazardous consequences of this purpose. The variety of goods produced in that country would encourage its citizen to purchase items that are not crucial to them nor they like it, resulting in valueing materials more than ethics and morals. Shopping baskets of people in such countries are getting more filled with the unwanted materials which would lead to vast junk production. The continues trend can reduce the available landfills and may require the government to search for new approaches of getting rid of the garbages.

In conclusion, several drawbacks are attached to choosing materials and goods production as the main aim of a country. In short-term this goal is beneficial in terms of economics and job opportunities, however, if not controled and organized might lead to consumerism and lack of landfills in long-term.