many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations?

In many people’s view, today’s examination method that obliges people to use a piece of paper and a pen is not the most effective way to evaluate educational success, a statement with which I strongly agree due to numerous reasons.

Initially, the conventional system is quite obsolete and does not respond to the needs of modern time. As is well-known, society is in an era of technological developments, and these should be implemented in examinations as well because today’s children are quite efficient at using technological devices, which may contribute to their success at school. For example, in a minority of high schools in Turkey, computer-based exams are an option for students now. Consequently, a number of students in those schools state that this new approach has significantly helped them achieve higher scores.

On the other hand, besides the technique, I firmly believe that this concept should not exist at all. The main reason is that people’s lives should not be solely dependent on exams that last only two or three hours because individuals may not be able to perform as well as they normally do due to myriad causes. Instead, other matters, such as class attendance or performance in classes, should be taken into consideration. Hence, the accuracy of assessment would also increase. For instance, in European countries, some professors are evaluating the number of questions students answered during classes when they are calculating their final grades. Furthermore, they also believe that this new system they have come up with is more fair compared to the current one and enables deserving students to pass easily.

In conclusion, a group thinks that the current approach for examinations is not efficient enough to evaluate educational achievement, and in my opinion, if there has to be exams, technological devices should be implemented in examinations. However, I hold the belief that they should be abandoned as soon as possible due to the aforementioned reasons.