Many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement What is vour view of examinations?

Nowadays traditional “pen and paper” examinations are considered insufficiently effective. This does not allow a full assessment of student’s knowledge. In this essay I will evaluate such kind of examination and propose alternative methods of testing.

Tasks in formal examinations are basic and compiled from the material covered. However, these exams don’t take into account some nuances. Students may be anxiouse and nervous while testing, and because of that they can forget the rules and not show their full knowledge. Also, “pen and paper” examinations don’t always perform students real furniture of their mind and vital skills. Sometimes students who were very active during the lessons and did all of their homework, did not do well in written assignmerrts because of fussiness. Therefore, some countries have gotten rid of such exams and introduced new methods and systems for testing.

There are already many different unusual methods for testing students, I will write about the ones I liked. The first method is called “young teacher”. The essence of the approach is to teach the lesson as real teacher. In our school we have already practised this method on lessons of history and we loved it with my classmates because it gave us opportunity to feel ourselves as real teachers and also, the most usefull, tell the topic in our own words and how we understood it. This method is very effective but it can take much time so there is another way. Solving online tests in a game format is not new in our digital world and the majority of schools use these method. The most common platform for such games is Kahoot. In our school we test our knowledge of English and mathematics by playing Kahoot where we should answer the questions correctly and accumulate points. It’s not only quizing but also fun for us.

To sum up the written above I can say that “pen and paper” examinations are not very effective and there are more better methods for assessing educational aduerement.