Many people believe that healthy eating and the importance of healthy food should be taught in school. Others say that parents should teach their children about healthy food and diet. Discuss both views and give your opinion with relevant examples.

Diet and nutrition are the key factors in the health and growth of a child. Many commenters are of the view that teachers should teach their students about clean eating and the significance of fresh food, whereas others feel that proper diet and nutritious meals should be taught at home. This essay will examine both sides of the argument and provide my overall opinion.

There are a number of reasons why people believe that, beside academic study, educational institutes are also responsible for teaching about eating healthy food and its importance. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favour of this idea is because teachers are in a good position to act as positive role models for students. Moreover, nutrition improves academic performance, so schools are the perfect place to teach about a well-balanced diet.

Despite these arguments, many people feel that parents, not schools, should be responsible for promoting good nutrition. Firstly, parents play a significant role in shaping children’s eating habits because they have a lot of control over the family environment where meals take place and the types of food children eat. Secondly, parents can influence their children’s eating habits in a positive way by planting a family garden, because kids are more likely to want to enjoy the fruits of their own labour. Finally, children learn to eat at home, and nutrition education should be started from the very first time they start eating. Good dietary habits practiced from a young age are more likely to stay and be carried on into adulthood.

In my opinion, parents and teachers both have a major influence on the formation of primary school children’s eating behaviours.