Many people believe that learning is a lifelong process that goes beyond formal education. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe that learning continues throughout life and is not limited to formal schooling. While formal education brings enough knowledge but lifelong learning goes well beyond what is taught in a formal education.

On the one hand, I agree that there are some benefits that formal education may bring. To begin with, formal education provides the foundation for essential knowledge and skills. It helps them in forming understanding when you go on advanced learning. In comparison, without these structured foundation, individuals may face difficulties to gain broad understanding in learning process. Additionally, formal learning offers career advancement which provides students with certifications or degrees that open doors for job opportunities. For example, in many fields, such as medicine, law or engineering, formal education is mandatory to ensure them to perform effectively with profession.

On the other hand, I still believe that lifelong learning is still very crucial for people’s life. Firstly, people now live with rapid technological advancements which contains abundance of information and insights. Therefore, people can not rely on knowledge gained during their school or university years because it quickly becomes outdated. In contrast, those who engage in self-directed learning through online courses, professional development, or even informal research remain more competitive and informed. Secondly, lifelong learning fosters personal growth and intellectual development. Continuing learning allow them to discover new interests or knowledge which has not been taught in schools or universities. For example, learning new language or taking up additional study in a specific field of study, these activities will equip them with opportunities in development.