Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both society and individuals. To what extent do you agree.

Social networking sites, for instance, Facebook, are thought by some to have had a detrimental effect on individual people, society, and local communities. However, while I believe such sites are mainly beneficial to the individual, I agree that they have had a damaging effect on local communities.

About individuals, the impact that online social media has on each person has clear advantages. Firstly, people from different countries are brought together on these platforms, whereas before the development of technology and social networking sites, people rarely had the chance to meet or communicate with anyone outside of their community. secondly, most individuals mainly teenagers don’t follow the news on television or in newspapers rather they look up the information on social media which can be a useful factor. For example, most teenagers have no idea about wars that have been going on recently between Palestine and Israel when they are published on the news; however, everyone is aware of it due to social media and also taking a voice against innocent people.

On the other hand, the effect that Facebook and other social networking sites have had on societies and local communities can only be seen as negative. Rather than individuals taking part in their local communities, they are more interested in people online. consequently, the people within local communities are no longer forming close or supportive relationships. Furthermore, society as a whole is becoming increasingly disjointed and fragmented as people spend more time online with people, they never met face to face and who are unlikely to ever meet in the future.

In conclusion, although social media have brought individuals closer together, they have not had the same effect on society. Local communities should encourage people to be involved in local activities in order to promote the future of community life.