Many people believe that television programs are of no value for children. Do you agree? Why or why not?

Television programs and shows are an important part of many families’ lives today. However, the majority of people say that they hold no benefit to the children, and could potentially harm the young minds. It is a hotly-debated topic that often divides opinions, therefore i find it difficult to side with one. The following essay will take a look at both of the sides of the argument and conclude with one of them.

To begin with, television programs that portray violence and harmful behaviour is the main concern of the parents. Studies have shown that children may become violent and repeat the dangerous things they have seen on TV. Additionally, the laws of cencorship have relaxed a little in some countries and an increasing amount of television shows contain disrespectful language which is another large problem. Kids may see television characters as role models and copy the poor behaviour shown. As a result, the younger generation becomes impolite, rude and perhaps even dangerous.

On the other hand, other shows are full of knowledge and promote good behaviour. As an example, Fixies is a popular TV program that teaches kids about how things work, without any violence or curse words, proving that if parents look closer into the programs, they can find that there are many kid-friendly shows that will not cause any psychological damage. The main reason why children may become violent is due to the lack of supervision, thus if the screen-time is supervised and only age acceptable programs are shown the child will not only be protected but also will benefit greatly.

In the conclusion, television is both a blessing and a curse. From my point of view, it can prove to be quite beneficial to the kids if the programs are chosen correctly, so i believe that programs can be beneficial to the children and hold value.