Many people believe that tourism benefits local communities more than it harms them. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that tourism profits for the locals outweigh the disadvantages it brings to them. In my opinion, I agree with the proposition of this argument, as international and national visitors have massive economic benefits to the local people, and they preserve the local culture.

Regarding the first point, tourists bring money to the locals, creating enormous economic growth. They can spend money on tourist activities, tour guide services, food, souvenirs, and accommodation, which can bring huge sales to the regional products in the area. Additionally, it will create employment, attract people from nearby states, and improve income for the locals and government, which will improve investments in other aspects to make the city grow. For example, Singapore initially invested in education and tourism to develop their country, after that, the nation had revenue from the tourist industry, which they used to develop infrastructure, public services, etc.

Moreover, the tourism industry is the one that preserves the local communities’ values, unlike the opposition’s idea that it harms them. As most of the tourist services, hospitality, … are served to tourists in a local-based style, which is more intriguing for them. Furthermore, tourism to a place is attracted by its unique tradition and heritage, and after the tour, visitors may share their experience with their community, family, and friends, spreading and preserving the tradition and historical sites of the area. For instance, Hoi An Ancient Town in Hue, Vietnam, still keeps its wooden houses, pagodas, etc. looking like they did hundreds of years ago. In addition, traditional crafts, festivals, and musical performances are still in practice, offering tourists a unique experience of living back in the day; consequently, many local cultures stayed in the presence of tourism.

In conclusion, I stand by the opinion that the tourist industry has made the locals benefit from it more than it damages them. The reasons are the economic merits that it brings by visitors spending on services; therefore, government expenditure can help to improve the area, and it keeps the local tradition alive by attracting tourists to explore the unique culture.