Many people feel that working from home is more productive than working in an office or in a shared workspace. Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

Many individuals think that working from home is more efficient than working in an office or in a shared workspace. In my opinion I do not think advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages.

The advantages of working from home is that it can save time. This means that when people work from home they do not have to spend time getting ready for work or commuting back and forth from work. Getting ready to go to work can take a lot of time from getting dressed to making yourself look presentable so when they work from home they can just get freshen up and get to work,moreover, people who work from home can also have more time for themselves since they do not need to drive to work nor do they need to drive back home from work. For example, some workplace is very far away for their home so getting to work can take a ton of time especially if there is heavy traffic.

On the other hand, working from home can make people feel less productive. Workers who work from home usually are less encouraged to do their work than people who work in an office space. When people work in a shared office space with many other workers around them they usually feel more productive to do their work since people around them are constantly working unlike when they are independently working whereas they can stop whenever they want and there is not any pressure to keep working unlike in an office space. For example, individuals who are working from home can do whatever they want like taking a break or getting a snack which then could make them procrastinate and not get back to work unlike people in an office where they have people around them to encourage them to get back to work. Working from home can also make people feel isolated and lack communication therefore weakening their communication skills. When people are working independently they usually do not communicate with other people unlike when they are working in an office where they have to interact back and forth constantly

Moreover, working independently can limit people’s ideas. People who work independently tend to have fewer ideas than people working in an office space with other workers. When people work alone their ideas are not as good or as creative as people who work together because when people are in a shared work space together they tend to share their ideas and experiences in order to improve the quality of the work that they are doing,so when people are working alone they would not have anyone to give them opinion or guidances therefor makingtheir work not as high quality as people working in a shared office space as a group.

In conclusion, working from home has both its disadvantages and advantages. The advantages being saving time for workers and its disadvantages being making people feel less productive,making them feel isolated and lacking communication and limiting workers’ ideas.In my opinion,I still strongly believe that the advantages of working from home do not outweigh the Disadvantages.