Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

Does everyone get to do work that they truly love and are passionate about? No, this is not the case for many people as they end up working occupations that they do not particularly like or enjoy.

There are multiple reasons through which this can be rationalised. Firstly, certain jobs are perceived to be better than others such as engineers, doctors and more. Hence people who choose to do these jobs are respected just on the basis of their career choice. From personal experience, I have observed how this is particularly true in the case of India. Growing up, I have had many friends who have felt compelled to choose professions such as medicine, engineering, architecture and such due to pressure from their parents and extended family members. By enforcing such pressure they are prioritising a sense of pride in the work their children are doing rather than focusing on whether they are passionate about the occupation or not.

Another factor to be considered is that many people may choose to work jobs that they necessarily do not have skills in because of its high-paying nature. Even though their true passion may lie in teaching or gardening, they choose to work in a corporate set-up in order to earn more.

However, I believe that such choices may be detrimental to their mental health. Constantly being in an environment that one does not like could lead them to feel depressed for a prolonged period of time. In a larger context, the consequences of this could also be visible in the quality of work they produce. This can lead to a situation where there are sub-par professionals in the workforce.

Overall, I believe that it is imperative for an individual to choose a line of work they resonate with, and one that truly aligns with their long-term goals. This would not only be beneficial for their own mental and physical health but also create a national workforce that is proactive and passionate about their work.