Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Pharmaceutical companies have seen immense growth when ever the world faced a terrible time though the product introduced by them were effective but only for those who can afford them or by the distribution of several non profitable organizations to the underprivileged areas.

There have been several occasion when the voices surfaced from public health institutions concerning the lack of medicines to treat the number of patients that have inducted because either the families of the individuals were not able to afford the prescription or due to the break out of any virus that has increased the demand of a particular medicine thus the out of the range prices.

The break out of any virus that usually gets initiated from the under developed nations due to the absence of basic health care resources, while the drug companies boasts their well distribution plans ranging all over the planet but only to those who can afford them. Ebola cases in Africa, is one of the major highlights of the lack of well being that resides in the drug companies core where alot of people remained untreated that because NGO’s like UNICEF were only able to collect certain number of vaccines and for the remaining the donation was collected to ‘buy’ the essential live saving drug for the people who are relying on them.

COVID 19, one of the worst times a world faced. The epidemic also worked as a curtain raiser for several pharmaceutical companies who increased the most significant chemical at that time, a sanitizer, which had to be bought by every house hold but the companies managed to swell their profit margin at the cost of afflicted people let alone the live saving drug that had prices increased by 100 or 200%.

I believe the drug companies should lead by example as their core purpose in the society is very noble, but they should also consider community well being with their product. Distribution of free medicines or even at reduced prices can be a very positive addition to their CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) rather then trying to seek out profit at every sale they make because the profits will be there eventually as long as there are human being on this planet.