Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In developing countries, a high number of the population succumb to death way earlier than their estimated life expectancy and sadly this is not due to end stage diseases but rather poor affordability of medication. Personally, I think this is not fair and treatment should be available for all whether poor or rich.

The only way to improve accessibility of treatment is that manufacturers of medication be regulated by law to ensure that their prices are affordable. For example, drug prices should be standardized across all drug companies. In addition, in third world countries where disparity between the rich and poor is still huge, the government should subsidies for the health sector. Money collected from taxpayers could be useful in this regard by donating for the health systems so that no one is refused treatment because they don’t have money.

Moreover, most drug companies are in the developed countries and the costs of transporting this medication affects the consumer’s price. However, I believe this should not be the case because they already know that some countries will not afford to foot those bills. It can only be fair if companies will support these countries by reducing their costs. Their selling price should not be the same for every government but should depend on that’s country’s economy.

In contrary, drug manufacturers should not lower their prices just to suit struggling countries. Some people argue that it is not their responsibility to ensure that everyone affords their products. Furthermore these companies spend a lot during production process, they also deserve to have some profits.

In a nutshell, I believe it is inhumane to let people die because they are poor.