Many people in poor countries die from diseases that are curable because they cannot afford the medication required. Do you believe that drug companies should make their products available at reduced prices in these countries? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Many people in low income countries loose their lives from illnesses that are curable because they cannot pay for their medicines. It is argued that drug companies should reduce the price of their medicines to make it affordable. I don’t believe this because, rather than forcing the companies the government of the countries should work on reducing taxes and prevention of the deceases.

The administration of the underdeveloped countries should reduce the tax subsided on medication. Although it may become difficult due to the limited resources in poor countries the government of this countries should focus on reducing the tax that drug companies pay, this makes medications accessible at a lower price. Foe example in my country Ethiopia, the cost of medication is very high due to the excess excise tax that drug importers and pharmaceutical companies have to pay.

Most of the diseases that are costing life in poor countries are not only curable but also preventable. This shows that if the right prevention measures such as vaccines, hygiene, and infrastructures for safe drinking water are implemented most of the diseases can be stopped from spreading and killing people. cholera is one of the diseases that is causing death in underdeveloped countries and it can be stopped by simple and easy precautions that includes washing hands before meal and eating well cooked food.

In conclusion, I don’t believe that drug companies should not make the prices lower, but, should be enhanced by the government by tax reduction and the right precautions should be taken to stop the spread of easily curable drugs that is killing people in this countries.