Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than local films. Why is this the case? Should the government invest money in the local film industry?

In recent years, there has been a growing inclination among individuals toward watching foreign movies instead of locally produced ones. Several factors have contributed to this trend and I hold the view that the authorities should invest in improving the local film industry.

There are many reasons why people prefer foreign movies rather than local ones. The key reason is that watching foreign films is an effective way for individuals to have a better grasp of different cultures. For example, by watching K-dramas, Vietnamese people can learn more about various traditional festivals as well as valuable customs in Korea, helping them broaden their knowledge. Another reason is that foreign films provide diverse genres and unique stories that are not prevalent in local cinema, contributing to attracting more people who are keen on exploring and finding something new.

From my perspective, the government should invest more in supporting local movies. This is because local film industries help preserve and promote cultural indentity and heritage. In fact, movies are powerful mediums to convey messages and spread information as it can easily access viewers from young to elderly people. Therefore, improving film industries is an effective way to help people gain an insight into their own culture, fostering a sense of appreciation and pride among residents. Furthermore, by doing this, government can create more job opportunities for many actors and directors, contributing to assisting them to earn more money to keep up with the cost of living and make ends meet.

In conclusion, an increase in the number of people, who prefer foreign movies rather than local films, stems from various factors and I am of the opinion that the government should invest more money in supporting local film industries.