Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than local films. Why is this the case? Should the government invest money in the local film industry?

In the modern era, many people would like to watch films produced by foreign countries rather than their country’s movies. There are so many reasons contributing to this phenomenon. But I strongly advocate for the notion that the government should spend more money on making local films than other country’s movies.

Due to the advance of technology, an increasing number of people can access many kinds of movies in many ways such as television, cinema, and computer. However, foreign films seem to be dominant in those channels. One reason that can contribute to this is human beings have an inborn curiosity toward new things thereby they want to explore some things that they are not usually exposed to. Foreign movies contain different styles and cultures as their customs and languages which seem to be interesting to viewers. For instance, in Vietnam, many kinds of films ranging from cartoons to romantic movies predominantly appear in the cinema while the number of traditional films is negligible. The underlying reason for this phenomenon is that fewer and fewer local people want to see their country’s movies so the local film productions suffer serious losses, forcing them to withdraw their films from the cinema.

When it comes to the government, I think they should address this problem seriously because local films contain traditional values and cultural heritage. For example, historical films present their country’s heroic moments in the past to make people in contemporary era remember how their ancestors protected their countries in that difficult era. Especially, young people can feel proud of their history and tend to find ways to preserve their traditional values.

To conclude, due to the fact that humans always want to seek something new and modern so the local film industry witnesses a downward trend in how many people want to see traditional movies. However, I believe that increased financial support could help to raise the quality of locally made films and allow them to compete with the foreign productions that currently dominate the market.