Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than local films. Why is this the case? Should the government invest money in the local film industry?

In these recent days, there is a saying of foreign films are more welcome than local films to the people. It is undeniable that foreign films bring a new exciting experience that could entertain the audiences more than local scenery. However, it is argued that the government should give support to local film industry. In my opinion, I agree to this issue as I believed that government should give financial aid to ease the producers problem, such as recruiting calefare and promotion costs and encourage foreign language trailers release on tv shows. Thus, a successful film production may lead to an expanding local tourism industry.

First, it is commonly known that producing a successful film requires a huge financial support. Many unseenable issues that a producer faces are financial insufficient to recruit an award-winning director and renting fame places for filming. Consequently, more directors quit film industry to earn a living. Therefore, a financial support could solve most of the production costs and recruit more talented local artists.

Second, after the film productions, promoting films is also an essential part of making a big hit to the film. It is believed that many local film has less recognition than foreign ones due to limited promotion. For example, in Malaysia, we have three main languages, Chinese, Malay and English. If a Chinese film wants to be promoted, it should have display its trailers in other languages subtitles on foreign tv channels, like our Malay channel, TV3. If our government agree to promote other native language movies on tv shows, it could be life-changing to our local film industry.

Third, global fame required support from the government. In other words, the government can control its import and export goods to its country. If a government works with the producers to promote local artists or films to countries who have large entertainment industries, like China and America, it raises the bars of our standard to new heights. This not only benefits the film industry but also the tourism industry of our country. One of the role examples is films from Korea. Due to their supportive government, they succeeded not only in the movie box office but also promoted the scenery spots to tourists. Nevertheless, a supportive government is capable of promoting local films to internationally famous and build a better economy from expanding tourism industry for the locals.

In conclusion, I still strongly believed that government financial aids and interfering with promoting local films could lead to success in our film industry, which also brings a fortune to our tourism industry. If government is unsupportive to promote local films globally, it will also not be more preferable than foreign films due to the lacking of fascinating experience and outdated filming skills.