Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than local films. Why is this the case? Should the government invest money in the local film industry?

Many people consider watching movies as a pleasant way of relaxing. In many times watchers rather watch international movies to movies produced regional. But why do many people share this oppinion? This essay will explain why the government definitely should help protect the extinction of local film industries by providing partial financial supplies.

The variety of movies from other countries is infinite. First of all because almost all countries on the world make their own movies. Especially American movies are immensily popular by watchers and as a result, the majority of movies is being produced in Hollywood. Because of this, a wide range of different movies which can reflect to everyones taste are getting produced, think about action-, romantic-, adventure- or comedy movies.

However, as a downside locally produced films attract less intrests. This is concerning, since in many cases locally produced movies are presenting and reflecting a country’s specific culture. Research has shown that many people discover specific aspects of a country’s genue cultrure because of movies. Besides, non native English speakers make way less chance of getting a succesfull career in the movie industry if the mayority of watched movies is from foreign countries. For this reason many people are not able to follow their dreams by getting a occupation they desire for. To prevent this, financial support of the government can help.

In conclusion, this essay strongly agrees that the government should support the local film industry because even though the range of foreign movies is uncountable, and it offers a wide variation, locally produced movies oftenly represent the real culture of a specific countries. This is way more likely to be educational then a ‘pretending to be a’ specific culture movie. In addition, if the local movie industry partly gets taken away it is fundamental for the careers of many people, which prevent some people to follow their dreams.