Many people say that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

It is obvious globalisation has changed the world, as global brands can easily be found in every part of the world. This has led to a lot of multinational companies operating in different countries. Many people claim that globalisation has brought benefits to the people in the countries where the companies are doing their business. However, some others, such as environmentalists, argue that the companies do more harm than good to the environment.

it is true that the existence of multinational companies has led to development in a country, both in infrastructure and economy. That is to say that, when a company decides to build a premises in one country, not only would they consider the plant or office, but also the infrastructure to support the business. For example, building roads and accommodation have to be taken into the planning to provide decent access and residence for the employees.

Unfortunately, this construction of these will cost a vast area of green space. In other words, trees will have to be cut off and waters areas such as swamps or rice fields will have to be paved with concrete. There will be no more soils to absorb rains which can cause floods in the rainy season and even drought in the dry season. Additionally, when the plant is starting the operation, the fume from the plant and vehicles that come and go to the area can highly pollute the air that can bring risk to the health of the people who live near the plant.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that international companies bring benefits and advances to countries where they are operating. Nevertheless, they have to be concerned with the effects of the construction process of their buildings, particularly on the environment, in order to ensure that they do not bring damage to it.