Many people say that globalisation and the growing number of multinational companies have a negative effect on the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

Environmental deterioration’s becoming a common issue around the globe made some people think that the globalization in many fields and ever-increasing number of international organizations are the source of this phenomenon. I personally agree with this perspective.

On the one hand, there might be some views on championing/supporting the outcomes originated from worldwide integration as well as multinational entities as if their actions are not harmful. Initially, global networking, a type of globalization, has been alerting people of earth regarding the ongoing climate change for over a half century. Moreover, with the aid of modern technologies, such as AI, prediction devices and professional environmentalists, we are now more informed about current natural degradation. For instance, via Google, source of nearly all information and available to anyone who has at least a smartphone, opinions of scientists are consistently presented about what we should do to ameliorate today’s nature related problems. Similarly, a great deal of multinational organizations are dealing with the mentioned issue through producing more eco-friendly products and goods, combined with influencing power. In other words, should the products be observed carefully, their labels mostly stress about recycling and not throwing away, which can also be a tool of having people more aware.

On the other hand, it is undeniable that they result in many adverse effects on the natural world. Firstly, because of globalization’s promoting aspect, an infinite number of merchandise have reached to almost every region of the world. As an example, natural washing up sponges, once used extensively, have already been replaced and even became forgotten in favor of synthetic ones in every kitchen owing to mass advertising. Lastly, relatively stronger and damaging effects on the environment derive from large-scale production by multinational companies. Explaining it further, most of the giant companies have their branches throughout the continents, enabling them to manufacture on a huge scale. For example, enterprises like Nestle, Tesla along with numerous oil refinery factories are constantly damaging the ecosystem by incessant manufacturing non-biodegradable commodities and exploiting natural resources such as lithium and fossil fuel to create batteries and many types of fuels respectively.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the above-mentioned advantages the globalization and intercontinental enterprises appear to bring about, their damaging consequences such as advertisement of unsustainable products and exploitation of natural supplies are indisputable, to which I strongly advocate.