Many people say that universities should only offer places to young student with the highest marks, while others say they should accept people of all ages, even if they did not do well at school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there is widespread belief that tertiary education should only open the door to academic excellence students. However, some people claim that academic qualifications should be provided for all students, regardless of age and academic ability. I will have a discussion about both views and state my opinion in the following essay.

Firstly, high school students with the highest marks deserve to be admitted to universities for their better academic performance. It is clear that they can think logically and innovatively with good critical thinking skills. Moreover, high-quality students own huge scope of knowledge, which supports them to handle immense workload and pressure to gain formal degrees. For instance, many prestigious high education providers in Viet Nam accepted students with hard scores in national college entrance exams to ensure that they are able to learn and achieve success due to the college’s curriculum.

As sensible and beneficial as it is, others contend that all individuals should be treated with rights and equality when students of all ages and low rates of education attend formal academic qualifications. Nevertheless, not good performance at high schools does not truly reflect their potential to succeed at universities. Especially in the knowledge-driven society of the present and in the future where job recruiters require formal degrees to get employment, it is unethical to deny access to theoretical knowledge and practical skills in colleges. In fact, in Viet Nam, many private colleges build up a peculiar syllabus to give them a hand to study at their own pace.

On the other hand, from my personal point of view, I believe that only high marks students can go to higher education since it may be a waste of time and finance for non academic excellence students. There are many other roads to come to Rome by apprenticeship.

In conclusion, although offering all types of ages and academic ability a chance to get university qualifications brings many benefits, I strongly oppose that only students with high marks should have college admissions.