Many people say the gap between rich and poor people is wider, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause and what measures can be done to address those problems?

Currently, there is a rise in the distance between the wealthy and needy people. The root causes of this is due to the differences of not only opportunities but also lifestyles, yet it can be tackled by government who provide social welfare for the poor.

To commence with, one of the reasons for this is the diversity of chances in career. In other words, the rich also have their available social relationships, property and knowledge which promote them to higher positions in their occupations. Meanwhile, disadvantaged individuals do not have any chance to overcome their porverty or become the affluent. For example, 95% of imporved white-collar workers in the UK could not move to the positions of managers because they did not have enough relationships in the firms.

In addition, another principal cause is the distinction in lifestyles between the rich and the poor. To be more specific, poor peopple tend to pursue extravagant lifestyles and waste their money on negative purposes such as using drugs and gambling or betting. In contrast, properous people just follow frugal lives as well as invest their money on several projects or ventures that can make a profit for them. As a consequence, the poor easily go bankrupt ,while the rich also become wealthier. For instance, in 2021, The New York Times showed that the top 10 of the billionaires in the USA just paid 2$ for each breakfast, whereas 5 millions citizens who lived in slums always spent 50$.

A solution, however, can be found in government’s actions towards the poor. The most effective approach is for people who are deprived can receive social amenities like accommodations, food and drinks from local authorities. As a result, these things will enhance the quality of their lives, leading to bridge the gap between the rich and the poor. Take Vietnam as an example here where 50 charity events happening every years to supply necessary facilities for deprived people and they also assisted more than 20000 citizens relocate in adequate houses.

Therefore, the increase of the gap between affluent and poor individuals stems from inequality of work’s opportunities along with diverse lifestyles. Nevertheless, supplying vital things for the needy will improve this problem.