Many people think homeschooling is better than traditional schooling for children's academic and social development. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some would argue that traditional schooling is outdated and home education is a significant choice for children’s acadamic and social development. This essay completely disagrees with the statement, because private schooling may help them improve academic knowledge, but their social and personal development can only be achivable by admiting them to a general school.

The main reason is the environment and atmosphere a school offers, which would be impossible to have in home-based learning. This is because educational institutes have some rules and regulations which must be followed by every student, which results in developing students’ integrity and discipline. Additionally, they build some social skills such as, communication and presentation, provided that they develop social bonds during their school time. For example, a recent survey on school attendees reveals that going to school has a direct relation with the student’s social activity.

Another reason why regular academy is a better option is the fact that it provides a competitive environment. By this I mean, in classroom, learners may have some internal competition for scoring higher than their friends and classmates, which motivates them to study harder and exceling their performance. Moreover, physical activities in school give them opportunities to explore more, rather than only focusing on their regular subjects, which cannot be possible in homeschooling. For instance, an article published by New York Times, revealed that public school attendees perform better in sports and academics than those who opted for homeschooling.

In conclusion, while it cannot be denied that personalized planning and guidance can only be witnessed in home-based education, I believe that by admitting pupils to general schools will have considerable impact on their personal development in the long term.