Many people think homeschooling is better than traditional schooling for children's academic and social development. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In modern society, advanced technology is changing the way we learn. We are no longer confined by time and space. We can access knowledge, classes, and schools even when we are at home. Because of its flexibility and variety, home schooling has become more popular nowadays, especially in the post-COVID-19 era. However, I still believe that traditional school is irreplaceable.

Traditional school means that students take classes in person. They are required to be present in the classroom on time. Since they are under the supervision of teachers, they will receive fewer distractions, such as ringing phones, video games, and disconnections, which can happen if they take online lessons. Moreover, students can have personal interaction with their teachers and peers through discussion and teamwork. Problems can be resolved in a more efficient way than in online discussions without back-and-forth messaging. In addition, schools provide safe and well-equipped facilities for students to conduct science experiments in laboratories, do on-site investigations of social issues, and stay healthy by playing sports in the gymnasium. Therefore, traditional schooling provides opportunities for youngsters to develop well-rounded physical and mental health.

Arguments are raised that online schooling is more convenient, with more curriculum choices. People are keen to study online classes and public resources. Students can learn programming to design robots, take culinary classes from famous chefs, and take design courses to make their own clothes, or even create their own brands. However, we should not ignore the disadvantages of home schooling. Lack of teamwork, discipline, and socialization can lead to mental isolation and difficulty in staying focused on classes, which can derail academic careers.

In conclusion, traditional schooling outweighs home schooling because of more teacher supervision, peer interaction, and standardized educational facilities. That is to say, schools should also consider providing extra online curricula as a supplement to traditional schools, which can expand students’ horizons.