Many people think that museums and galleries should only show work from local artists rather than work from other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Numerous people view that art galleries and museums should emphasize the spotlight on art crafted by local artists and exclude artwork from foreign countries. Although local artworks must be greatly appreciated, this essay disagrees with the perspective, as the act narrows artists’ perspectives and reduces the chances of them expanding internationally.

By showcasing both local and foreign artworks, people that visit art galleries (artists included) are exposed to various artistic ideas. Pablo Picasso was an artist that presented a unique method of painting, which inspired many artists around the globe. This would not be possible if his artwork was not presented in countries other than his own. Therefore removing the presence of artwork coming from abroad will lessen the amount of unique ideas and perspectives that are obtained by local artists.

Diverting attention away from international artworks will impose a greater challenge for amateur artists to allow their art to reach people around the globe. Unlike renowned artists, they are still attracting support and approval from the public, partly by showcasing their artworks in art galleries. If their art is rejected in other nations’ art galleries, they are confined to expanding their career in their motherland. Hence, these artworks must gain equal attention to those produced locally, to appreciate artists’ efforts around the globe and allow them to flourish in their career paths.

In conclusion, art galleries and museums must highlight both locally crafted pieces of art and those coming from other nations, to open the minds of local artists and opening the chances for artists to promote and share their arts on a global scale.