Many people think that social media platforms have made people less sociable and more isolated. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Although smartphones and the internet have made it easier than ever to stay in touch, many people believe that they, paradoxically, made us less social. I completely agree with this idea because such technologies have limited people’s opportunities to build interpersonal skills and gradually undermine the quality of face-to-face interactions.

The primary reason why I agree with this view is that constant access to the internet and smartphones prevents many individuals from developing stronger people skills. When most day-to-day communication takes place online, it often replaces face-to-face contact, so there is less incentive to arrange real-life meetings. Consequently, people see each other less and less frequently, spending more time alone. Not only does it make them isolated, but it also deprives them of a chance to practice interpersonal skills with real individuals. While such consequences may not be immediately apparent, over a longer timespan, people will eventually become less sociable. The impact of this was clear after the COVID-19 lockdown, when most people had to study and work from home for 6-12 months and they became more withdrawn from social situations. This proves the fact that continual online communication can damage a person’s sociability.

Additionally, excessive use of mobile devices and the internet has had its toll on the quality of physical interactions. There are two main factors behind this: for one, online content and social media are engineered to be extremely engaging, which keeps people glued to their screens. For another, it is far easier and more convenient to send a quick message or even make a phone call than to meet. Therefore, people end up prioritising what is happening on screens over the person sitting in front of them. In many cafes and restaurants, for example, most guests keep their phones on the table and regularly check them while others are speaking. This kind of behavior is considered not only disrespectful but also quite antisocial as it implies boredom and lack of interest in what the other person is saying.

In conclusion, modern digital technologies have contributed to people becoming less social by limiting opportunities to enhance social skills and by lowering the quality of in-person interactions. For these reasons, I firmly believe that modern technology has made many people less sociable than they were in the past.