Many people think that the main purpose of schools is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is people who thinks that the main goal of schools is not to make individuals from students, they actually want to make good citizens and workers from them. I agree that a school’s mission is to breed good citizens and employees.

Firstly, schools do not prioritise individuality and foster obedience, because they introduce unnecessary rules that students follow in the fear of punishment. For example, the school does not give permission to participate in extracurricular activities during school lessons, and if they break the rules, they will have to face get penalty because of their actions, this can break students’ initiative. As a result,in the future, they may also try to adapt to someone as they got used to doing at an educational institution.

Secondly, schools are built to fill the needs of society, not just the interests of each student. That is because, in the future, the government needs workers to develop the country. That is why, schools impose standards to make people behave and think the same way. As a result, students cannot express themselves freely and are afraid to tell their opinions to others. Moreover, many schools do not teach emotional intelligence or how to find meaning in life, although, these things are important for personal growth.

In conclusion, the purpose of academic institutions is to raise children as good citizens and workers, because all students have to follow rules. This system may ignore individual talents and interests.Ultimately, schools play a key role in preparing children to be a good members of society and effective workers.