Many people today prefer to socialize online rather than spend time with friends in the local community. To what extent do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

There is an increasing number of people who opt for socializing online rather than meeting people face-to-face. I believe drawbacks can exceed advantages as people can get unconfident and lose their communication skills in different situations.

Firstly, online apps for communication include different types of people which can be unsuitable for a person who is looking for a partner. The person can encounter the wrong community which will be psychologically detrimental to him. Moreover, avoiding in person dialogues can alter person’s character negatively and result in some behavioral changes of an individual throughout their daily lives. This can impact their confidence and this consequently can lead to being unable to interact with people. To cite an example, in US, for teenagers who find coevals to talk with, it is difficult to spend time outside and even if they meet someone, they cannot find anything interesting to talk about.

However, technological devices and new versions of them are being released, interaction between individuals through the phone is widespread. Online chatting platforms are becoming well-known, since they provide more convenient conversation. That is, both sides do not need to arrange an appointment, discuss the location and worry about being late. For instance, according to one research which was carried out in UK, now more and more people get to know each other through social media platforms and continue their relationships for a long term, not being bothered to allocate time for a date.

In summation, in my opinion, although the majority socialize through the Internet, demerits of this trend surpass the merits due to the false wrong community and risk of both behavioral and characteristic changes.