Many people today prefer to socialize online rather than spend time with friends in the local community. To what extent do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Communicating online with people attract many people nowadays, instead of spending time in local places with their friends . I think disadvantages of this trend completely outweigh the advantages. I will discuss its benefits for introvert people and downsides for communities’ social skills.

On the one hand, socializing online can help people that struggle with making friends in real life due to their shy nature or anxiety. Furthermore, some people face challenge to make proper friendships according with their views and cultures. Chatting or speaking online with different people from various cultures have been accessible for all people nowadays. In turn, it make it possible to find relevant friend who you are looking for. Moreover, availability of conversing without the need of transcend the shyness which do not allow to speak in public places, make online communication more captivating for those who have trouble in expressing themselves in front of people, namely, who are introvert. For example, In 2021,according to the daily newspaper channel in Azerbaijan, people who involved in online discord conversations more than 5 hours a day, stated that they speaking online with people had tackled their social issues, as they started to share their ideas with people more confidently and they started to make more friends since they use discord and other social media applications.

However, it has downsides as well as its benefits. Firstly, social network turn to an addiction for some people, who spend excessive time there. That is, they start to live isolated from real life and to believe artificial lives in social media and to rely on easy communication. Being dependent from these factors, make people unable to communicate in real life, and they need a keyboard to express themselves. Additionally, it weaken the relationships between families and friends, because the time they spend to each other decreases. As people find social media and online communicating more engaging, discussing something with friends or families, or doing something in local community seem less attractive to them. It lead to separations and social weaknesses among community. For instance, according to the students records from Baku international school, monthly activities and competitions show lower attendance in recent times, compared to 5 years before. And teachers stated that it is an outcome of online network which has occupied children’s attention.

Consequently, the despite online socializing has short-term advantages for introvert and shy people, it give damage to the society with its long-term effects like losing relationships and declining communicative skills.