Many people today prefer to socialize online rather than spend time with friends in the local community. To what extent do advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In the recent years, from the members of young population to old ones get in touch on social platforms and they do not attempt to hang out with their family members or friends at the café, park or other outdoor places. Disadvantages of this case followed by an analysis of primary advantage of knowing different people from all around the world will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

The foremost downside of socializing online rather than spend time with people in the local community is lacking of normal speech ability. When people prefer communicating online, by the time they lose their ability to make eye contact with other people, to express themselves with speaking and to use their gestures and facial expressions. For example, psychologists say that those individuals who always chat with others on social platforms, they are struggling with presenting in front of large audience in the workplaces or universities and they avoid making eye contact. Moreover, the members of society who are better when communicating online, they are inclined to be introvert. While those people have significant socializing skills on social platforms, in crowded places they avoid to meet and build relationship with other individuals. For example, in many countries, there are some places particularly for young people where introvert people can meet, entertain by singing, playing various games and make new friends.

There are certain advantages to socializing online. People can make friends from all around the world with the aid of online communication. As a result, they can enhance their outlook and cultural awareness. Since in real life, it is challenging to know new people from various countries without going there. However, social networks ease this process and through online socializing people have a chance to learn about other nations, cultures and traditions. For example, socializing online on social platforms like Instagram, twitter and Facebook provide many opportunities to find new different individuals and to get useful information from them.

In conclusion, in my opinion, although there are some benefits of communicating online, drawbacks clearly outweigh them in terms of being introvert and losing main abilities to socialize in local community.