Many people today suffer from stress-related problems. What are the main causes of stress, and what solutions can you suggest?

Considering ubiquitous existence of stress in our daily lives, it is quite expected to encounter many people to suffer from stress and its effects on their lives or even on their health. Stress is generally about not taking action or overthinking, and these causes would well be overcome by a good plan and a realistic evaluation of the circumstances, respectively.

Jeff Bezos, who is well-known by his wealth and success as a businessman, states in one of his interviews that stress does not comes from things that we cannot control; instead, stress primarily comes from not taking action on the things that we can have a control over. The mentioned argument is fairly sensible when the one tries to remember his/her feelings in the last time that s/he postpones his/her studies for an exam or a job related duty. In such cases, things having forced us to feel stressful at that specific moment are regret and guiltyness of not allocating enough time to the duty earlier. On the other hand, this is not the only source of stress, and humankind are so harsh on themselves that we are eligible to turn every situation into a hell for ourselves by overthinking. As it is widely said, “problem is rarely a real problem”, however, we tend to see negative sides of anything most of the time by taken unlikely situations into consideration. This can be exemplified as thinking all possible scenarios about a subject where 99 per cent of our imagination will not come true, such as being prepared to a talk with your advisor about your thesis by relentlessly criticizing your written passages and thinking professor will not be happy with your work.

Even though psychological background of the stress having mentioned above seems to hard to handle, we do not have to struggle in stressful conditions by only two simple facts: having a good plan, and a realistic assessment. Even if human beings generally opt for simultaneous flow of the life, having a concrete plan will fundamentally eliminate all the problems about not taking action on time, owing to the fact that a good plan will lead to a decent time management. In addition to a having a good plan, there is also a solution to overthinking issue. One should always keep it in mind that our thoughts are usually shaped by our negative biases, therefore, the more we think about a subject will likely result the more pessimistic and hence the more stressful we are. The way that we can easily break this cycle is to make realistic evaluations, and there would be some good ways of doing that, such as writing facts and superstitions on a paper as if writing pros and cons.

Taking everything into account, although stress seems to be widespread in most area of the life, considering it as an inseparable part of our lives is just a fallacy. There exist some reasons to create stress such as not taking action and overthinking, nevertheless, there are some solid ways to cope with them such as having a good plan and the realistic evaluation of the relevant stressful situation, respectively.