Many students around the world don't choose science subjects at university. Give the reasons for this and describe the impacts on the community?

There is tangible evidence that science subjects are not options for numerous students at university. In this essay, I have attempted to show the relationship between causes of this phenomenon and its effects on community as a whole.

Firstly, obviously, social trends and preferences change all the time, therefore, career is not an exception. Many students are attracted to “hot” careers due to their benefits and people’s curiosity. In fact, some careers do not have any relation to science subjects. Consequently, students prefer to choose other subjects that can aid their future careers. One immediate effect of this action is the surplus employment in some job categories. Economically, most countries spend large proportions of their budgets on school facilities for all fields equally. To be more detailed, it is such a waste invested money as the unemployment qualified people rises, those choose “hot” careers.

Another reason contributing to this tendency is that in students’ thoughts, science subjects at university are usually more theoretical than in high school, resulting in minimal practicability in real life. Students also assume that with the basic knowledge they obtain from high school, it is enough. Thus, in community, there are some jobs, specifically healthcare and technology development, that have insufficient labor resources. This causes more competitiveness and puts more pressure on national development, especially technological advances revolution nowadays.

To recapitulate, I once again reaffirm that students not choosing science subjects at university have significant effects on community as a whole, insufficient labor resources to develop country and surplus qualified employees.