Many students choose to study in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

It is commonly argued whether studying abroad benefit students and their development. This essay will argue that plus points outweigh the drawbacks for those individuals who choose to leave the home country and focus on applying to foreign institutes.

In general, it is common nowadays to explore other countries for studying purposes and this approach tends to have multiple benefits. First, new cultures expand the mental boundaries of the human as well as critical thinking. To explain better, we may pick an example of the average student from an Eastern European country who wants to enter college in either the USA or Canada. Those countries have multi-cultural environments that give an opportunity to understand not only compatriots, but also representatives of other nations like Chinese or American people. In my opinion, it is priceless to have an experience of collaboration with a person who has other ways of thinking and background. Overall, the point is that networking from foreign people gives the expansion of outlook.

Secondly, more often teenegers are about to move because of better career opportunities abroad which includes more developed science bases, higher salaries and overall less friction with working that in motherland. This fact encourages the economical migration starting the bachelor’s degree level, when it’s crucial to get the local education and maintain local communication skills to be able to make the job landing easier. Nowadays, countries like the USA, the UK, Australia, China, Canada are hunting for talents across the world and attract gifted individuals with scholarships and other perks. At this point, the person meets the crossroad: stay local with a family and be limited with opportunities or to leave the motherland and start the unique way of immigration. The second option usually sounds more persuasive for talented and brave students.

By contrast, the drawback is clear for home countries of those people. The outflow of best brains makes the country development much harder and to keep them at home, the government tries either to encourage people stay local by perks or make restrictions. For instance, China has seen recently that their citizens are spread across the world and now their politics includes attempts to bring them back. The government operates with two substantial factors: higher paycheck and working among same chinese people using native language. The second factor attracts the most, because Asian people are tend to be discriminated and the opportunity to earn same or even bigger salary along with less social pressure is persuasive.

To sum up, advantages of studying abroad definitely outweigh disadvantages for young generation and their future opportunities. Although they are about to be successful and rich, their home countries suffer from lack of talents which sometimes make a difficult decision: to be happy by yourself and to sacrifice your country or to make your country flourish and to sacrifice personal ambitions.