Many students choose to study in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

The idea of studying abroad is becoming increasingly favourable among the majority of pupils. This essay will argue that the advantages of this occurrence outweigh the drawbacks. The essay will first demonstrate that they bring cognitive benefits, followed by analysis of how primary disadvantage, namely homesickness, is not valid.

First of all, studying in another country gives students the opportunity to explore new places and cultures of people from all over the world, which naturally broadens their horizons and allows them to explore the world with their own eyes. Another advantage is that study abroad is such an excellent opportunity to obtain a foreign diploma which is highly appreciated by employers. Such degrees open the door to many global companies and give a colossal privilege in labor market. For instance, A medical degree obtained by studying in another country allows you not to take an exam confirming your qualifications if you want to receive an international certificate.

From the negative angle, many students feel out of place and experience culture shock due to their sense of isolation. Longing for familiar things such as the public transport system, banking and food is notable enough to engender concerning issues about the correctness. For example, it is became known from the latest news that students from the United Arab Emirates dropped out of university. The primary reason was homesickness.

Finally, I would conclude by saying that we all can have experienced the drawbacks of studying far away from home. However, I am convinced that for better tertiary education, the benefits have surpassed the disadvantages.